Move out and move on..

Oh Mr. Mraz, how you kill me.

I just happened to download his latest album and the first song that I listened to today, I proceeded to play it on a loop for, I kid you not, 63 times. The track is at the bottom of this post in case you have a couple of hours to spare listening to his delightfully buttery voice.

Yes, I do verge on having slightly obsessive tendencies, why do you ask?

I distinctly remember a playlist on my iPod that I made sometime in early 2009 which exclusively contained about 20 songs by Jason Mraz. It was pretty much the only playlist I listened to for the rest of the year. His voice just has this uncanny ability of making you smile and subsequently helping you make sense of everything else happening in your life. I realize that the previous statement maybe highly subjective but I strongly encourage you to try and disprove it.

Anyway, since this blog is supposed to be about me (How very narcissistic!), I presume some long standing updates are in order. Well, for starters, I moved..AGAIN! I can now officially claim my well deserved title of ‘Girl-who-moves-around-London-a-lot-Yes-she-is-Psycho’.

I’m back in the East and I have to say that it continually manages to pleasantly surprise me (Who would have thought?!). I live about a 5 minute bus ride away from the Olympic Park where the Olympics are scheduled to be rained out in about two weeks from today. 2012 is now unofficially the year that the United Kingdom has successfully managed to evade summer. It has been pouring non-stop for the past three months with absolutely no sign of letting up. In normal circumstances this would depress me, but with the mood I’ve been in, it has actually been quite soothing and oddly cathartic.

My life in short, for the first time in a long time is wonderfully mellow. I’m not constantly agitated and doubtful of every move I make and my deeply ingrained independent streak is on high frequency which is exactly the way I like it. Honestly, not having to take anyone else into consideration but yourself is deliciously satisfying. I feel like I actually have the time, the energy and the desire to stop and smell the roses, so to speak. (Not that roses interest me in the least!)

I’ve noticed that I happen to smile to myself a lot more these days than before, so much so that a guy actually stopped me on the street a few days ago and asked me if he could borrow my smile. I’m presuming that he was either being extremely sweet or that he was stoned out of his mind. Somehow the latter seems to make more sense given the situation.

Anyway, I think that the above fills the brief for my randomness quota for the day. I’m glad that I’m back here and hopefully this will become more of a constant occurrence rather than not. Like I’ve said before, 80 year old me needs to have some well documented points of reference!

 

Leave a Reply

